Oct. 3rd, 2005

luciab: (Default)
Gisele came down and stayed with me this weeekend and we went to University. We did a road trip with Livia, Idonea and Idonea's daughter Clare. For once, the trip actually took as long as the map programs said it would-- all those small towns make a difference, I guess. University... eh. Not really any classes I wanted to take, but it was really good to see Julianna and play with calligraphy some.

Gigi got in about 4 on Friday, so we got Chinese carry out and rented a couple of movies. I've been really lax about keeping up with movies for the last couple of years. I hadn't seen Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels, for example, so we rented that and Snatch, another Guy Ritchie film. I enjoyed both of them enough that when I returned them today, I wanted to rent another movie. Hey! The video store is having a special-- rent five "catalog" movies and you get them for seven days for $9. There are certainly enough movies I haven't seen, so that seemed like a good deal. The two I knew I wanted to see were Fight Club and Donnie Darko, so I got them. I also picked up Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas to watch Johnny Depp (never a bad thing) be Hunter S Thompson (always an entertaining thing.) That left me with two slots to fill. Somehow with those three, I didn't think anything fluffy would really fit, so the musicals are out this time. I wound up talking to the clerk to get recommendations, and he suggested Leon: The Professional and Confidence I've never heard of either of them, but when I've taken the time to talk to a video store clerk I've never been steered wrong.

I just watched Fight Club. Amy had been recommending it ever since it came out, but the plot description sounded so grim I could never make myself get it. I don't know how anyone could describe it differently to avoid that pitfall, but I loved the movie and am really sorry I waited so long to see it. Well, wait; maybe I do know what made the difference. Gigi sort of tossed off a comment that Brad Pitt had some really funny stuff. Believe me, I had no idea that anyone could use the word "funny" in any conversation about Fight Club. It also falls into the mindfuck category, and that was a surprise. I guess I just thought it was about a bunch of guys fighting in a basement. I can always go for a good mindfuck. So to speak. Ya know, on further reflection, it's really pretty scary how much I liked that movie. Wow.

I definitely need to NOT watch another movie right now; what the hell could follow that? But it's early and I'm in the mood for movies. What to do, what to do.

hyperframe

Oct. 3rd, 2005 08:45 pm
luciab: (Default)
Crap. I found this puzzle thing online at Shockwave.com, and it's called hyperframe. I've gotten to level 12 on the Mindcube version and I'm stuck. I have looked at this thing over a period of about four days with no success. Sucker is driving me nuts.

Profile

luciab: (Default)
Susan Arthur

February 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:17 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios