Dec. 31st, 2006

luciab: (Default)
I am surprised at my mood today, though maybe I shouldn't be. In spite of three invitations for tonight, (including one set of plans) I find that what I am in the mood to do is sit and paint. I suppose I could blame/thank [livejournal.com profile] zihuatenejo for this-- I went over there last night and painted for the first time in over a year. I half expected that my hand would be rusty from lack of use, but I was very pleased with the two butterflies and a bird that I added to Gigi's AoA scroll. One of the reasons I went was to get started painting again; I got as far as getting my drafting table about half cleaned off yesterday but sank back into inertia after that, reading the new Spenser mystery instead. (Spenser never changes, BTW. Same sardonic comments, same short sentences, same comfort level. Nice.)

So on one hand, I'm excited about painting again. I'm sure the 20 people who have commissioned me to do scrolls are all in favor of this, too, since most of them have been patiently waiting for years, and I do mean that literally. And I have the first three seasons of Buffy and several movies (some as yet unseen) to watch/listen to while I paint. And I'm sure Miranda will be highly entertained by my painting again. She hasn't had wiggling paint brushes to play with for too long now.

On the other hand, sometimes I needed to be jogged out of my tendency to crawl into my painting and stay there for as long as I possibly can. And it would definitely be fun to see the people at the gatherings to which I have been invited, and I"ve been wanting to see [livejournal.com profile] foklens play. It's just that I really don't like crowds, and what is going to be more crowded than a bar on New Year's Eve?

So, I'm going to think on this while I paint and watch the first few disks of Buffy or whatever. If you have nothing better to do today than read journals and have strong feelings about this subject, feel free to weigh in. I will give your comments serious consideration.

oops

Dec. 31st, 2006 04:28 pm
luciab: (Default)
There's only one flaw in the watch-DVDs-and-paint theory..... I'm doing more watching than painting.
Right now it's Pirates of the Carribean-- all those lovely swashes getting buckled. Damn fine choreography. And if that weren't enough, Miranda has, true to expectations, decided that I really need her help, or at least that I need her to soak up the heat under the light which would otherwise be useful for oh, lighting, perhaps. And all those brushes haven't been knocked off the desk for at least a year! How could I be so negligent? On a more prosaic note, my painting kit is a bit.... scattered, somehow, and I can't find all the random bits I need. I'll be buying yet another magnifying glass, unless mine turns up somewhere soon.

Profile

luciab: (Default)
Susan Arthur

February 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:18 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios