So, after major suckage this morning, including a migraine and losing a good portion of a paper I was working on, I went to class with some trepidation. I felt like crap but after missing with the flu last week, I couldn't afford to miss again. So I put on my sunglasses and cap with a visor (driving into the sunset is SO much fun with a migraine) and hauled my tired ass on over to school. I was horrified to find out that last week, after what felt like months worth of talking about vagueness and philosophy, they actually started working on cataloging last week, and everyone was talking about the homework they had been working on. Holy shit. I thought I had done the reading while I had the flu, and I may actually have read it, but somehow the memory circuit wasn't engaged or something. So I was pretty much bewildered, starting to wonder if maybe I should see about dropping that class.
After the break she handed back the first papers we'd turned in. It was a comparison of a library and a retail outlet; we were to choose one of each that we were not familiar with. She had underlined some stuff in my paper, kinda like you do when you're studying, and made notes a few places, like "Good!" and "Nice summary." No grade on the first page, though. Finally on the last page she wrote the grade: 15 of 15 possible points. Woo hoo! She said it was "well organized, described, and summarized based on careful observations and analyses." I think that's the first time in my life someone has complimented my analysis of anything except for visual analysis (a la architecture school and design.) That perked me right up.
So now I have to get caught up on all the stuff I missed last week, and finish the damn paper I lost part of this morning (writing twice is not the best way to get anything finished) and read for my other classes, and go to work tomorrow, and, and, and. What am I thinking of, trying this? Geez.
After the break she handed back the first papers we'd turned in. It was a comparison of a library and a retail outlet; we were to choose one of each that we were not familiar with. She had underlined some stuff in my paper, kinda like you do when you're studying, and made notes a few places, like "Good!" and "Nice summary." No grade on the first page, though. Finally on the last page she wrote the grade: 15 of 15 possible points. Woo hoo! She said it was "well organized, described, and summarized based on careful observations and analyses." I think that's the first time in my life someone has complimented my analysis of anything except for visual analysis (a la architecture school and design.) That perked me right up.
So now I have to get caught up on all the stuff I missed last week, and finish the damn paper I lost part of this morning (writing twice is not the best way to get anything finished) and read for my other classes, and go to work tomorrow, and, and, and. What am I thinking of, trying this? Geez.
Congrats!
Date: 2006-02-08 03:32 pm (UTC)Give the class you're thinking about dropping a bit more time. I mean, you've not even halfway through yet. That is, if you want to keep it.
Another thing to keep in mind is that you're not looking to get the head Librarianship of the Library of Congress. You're looking to get a degree so you can do a lower-stress job you enjoy while not being trapped in minimum-wage slave status. So graduating Summa Cum Laude, while impressive, probably isn't important.
No stress. Stress is the friend of migraines and flu. Stress is evil and not to be tolerated.
PS. I'm sending you an email. :)
LLZ
Re: Congrats!
Date: 2006-02-08 03:48 pm (UTC)Oh, and apprenticesses? As long as it's not "aprincesses." Heh.
Re: Congrats!
Date: 2006-02-08 10:35 pm (UTC)C = JD