luciab: (Default)
[personal profile] luciab
I got a rude awakening tonight. I had been looking at the requirements for classes, and trying to plan out what I was going to take and when. It seems that the school has added some information since I first looked at the Archives track info, and I admit I hadn't studied everything they had added. Almost all of this was added to the web site after I was admitted, BTW. When I was writing my letter of application, there was only a bare bones outline. Now there's lots of info about how many classes per semester you can take at other campuses and everything else under the sun.

So here's the deal in a nutshell. The course is very tightly laid out over a two year period. Most of the classes at State (for the archiving) are only taught once a year, and of course they are sequential, so since I started in the wrong semester, I'm basically screwed. If I decided that I just loved Archives and was determined to take that track, I couldn't graduate till Spring '08. I know a lot of the students aren't planning to graduate before then anyway, but they were only planning to take, say, two courses a semester instead of three. If I could take all three classes at State in the Spring of '07, I could be done by Summer '07. I wonder.... if I talked to the Dean.... hrm.

What is so frustrating is that I don't even know whether I'll like Archives. If I knew going in that I liked it and that's what I was determined to do, it'd be one thing. I'm just very reluctant to commit to that extra time, not having a clue.

Date: 2006-03-24 02:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zihuatanejo.livejournal.com
You can always think about it this way:
Even if you take the archives track, your core degree is still an MLS, just like everyone else. If you decide you don't like archive work, you will still be hireable for another library position.

Is there any possibility of a field experience?

Date: 2006-03-24 03:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luciab.livejournal.com
State requires a practicum, so there's that. I don't know enough at the moment for anybody to hire me, otherwise. I guess right now I'm thinking I'll take the two classes at State that would be required if I did go that route. That does mean, however, that I couldn't take the UNC course if it's offered, and I'd really rather have that one than the other archives class. Maybe I take the ones I know I want, and if I find out I like it, I'll have time to take the other fall class next year. Yeah, that's the ticket! This fall I take the first archives class at State, the UNC class if it's offered, and one at Central. If the UNC class is not offered, then I have yet another decision to make. I hate decisions.

Date: 2006-03-24 03:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zihuatanejo.livejournal.com
Ooo, practicum would be the way to go.
The UNC course is not offered this year, which is going to screw a lot of people over. Me included. Feh :-(

Date: 2006-03-24 03:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luciab.livejournal.com
Don't have the prereqs for Practicum yet... sigh. But then if I.... no, gotta do the other thing first.... Damn! too many variables!!

Profile

luciab: (Default)
Susan Arthur

February 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios