I just had another epiphany about just how much of a Kentucky girl I am. When I read this article about Barbaro I had tears in my eyes. Dammit! He was supposed to be a Triple Crown winner. We need another Triple Crown winner
You're not the only one a little heartbroken. There's just something about the Triple Crown that gets to people. It really would have been nice to have another winner.
I was really sad about it too. In fact, every time I read a story about him, it makes me sad. At least he made it through the surgery. I heard that in a Breeders Cup race a few years ago, they had to euthanize a horse *one the track*. Ouch. Makes you wish they'd up the racing age some, so horses wouldn't race until their bones were mature.
Is THAT the problem? I was finding it hard to imagine that his ankle just broke from running. Unless he just had weak bones or something, which I would think would lessen his stud fees. I saw one pic of him taken from the front before the jockey stopped him; the leg was flapped out almost at right angles to his body. Horrifying.
no subject
Date: 2006-05-22 03:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-05-24 12:17 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-05-24 03:21 pm (UTC)