luciab: (Default)
[personal profile] luciab
Well, not really. If I went to the store like I need to, though, I might, cause it's Raining In Earnest out there (poor Earnest!)

The temps have been high enough that I've gone into summer food mode-- ceviche, gazpacho, mozzarella and tomatoes w/ balsamic vinegar (adding feta and cukes make it even better) and that Tex-Mex salad (beans, corn, crunchy stuff and salsa) are staples. The ceviche, of course, is on the expensive end of the spectrum so it's not as frequent as the others. I think I'm going to do it soon, though. Maybe a version with mango in it, since I got a flat of them before the apprenticing ceremony and still have several left. Oooh, or chicken salad with mango-- I just found a recipe with a ginger/orange dressing. Yum.

I've been doing my readings for one of my classes-- they haven't started yet, but one teacher has sent out the syllabus. I'm really glad I started early-- it's given me time to digest. This is pretty dense stuff, some of it anyway. A co-worker had the class earlier and loaned me her copies of the readings so I don't have to pay to copy everything, which is a Good Thing, since her 3" notebook is filled. She also had notes on some of the readings which clarified a few things for me. One of my concerns was that I thought the teacher wanted us to submit a question for each reading, due by noon the day before class. Tess's notes included comments but not questions, so I re-read the requirements. Whew! Comments are acceptable, too. That I can do; I've been collecting them as I read.

We also have to write a 3-page paper on a personal information search. I think I'm going to do that one on info required for making an Italian Ren dress. I'm pretty sure I can spin that into three pages.

Another requirement is a 10-page paper on the topic of "information needs and uses of a group that is of interest" to me. Of course, my first thought was "SCA!" Think of all the research we do. Second thought: "There probably isn't a lot of published research on the SCA per se." Third: "How can I frame the question to be able to find useful articles?" Guess that shows I'm learning to adapt. Nia suggested a further adaptation-- how the SCA creates its own sources-- The Oak, The Known World Handbook, The Complete Anachronist, not to mention hundreds of websites-- and how other SCAdians find what they need there. Given the way the assignment is worded, that'd work.

*Note: if any of you have thoughts or suggestions on references or citations for this topic, please let me know ASAP. This whole class is only 5 weeks long!

Oh, and there was a really cute guy in the laundry room this morning. Not quite sure what it was about him, but he kinda reminded me of Richard Gere. Hubba hubba! Nice butt, too. Heh. I was so befuddled that I couldn't even think of any way to start a conversation. He even quit folding laundry to go hold the door for me when he saw out of the corner of his eye that I was ready to leave. Wow.

Re: summer food

Date: 2006-06-27 06:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thalionar.livejournal.com
peaches are getting to be in season, too (at least, there are some yummy ones at the farmers market!)

Stupid Easy Summer Salad
1 can black beans, drained, rinsed
1 can (or 1.5 cups frozen) corn, drained, rinsed (or thawed)
3 green onions, sliced thin
1 large tomato, seeded, diced
1/2 bell pepper (I like green in this), seeded, diced
2-3 tbs balsamic vinegar
1-2 tbs olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Toss everything together, cover, let chill in fridge at least 30 min, longer is better, can be served cold or at room temp. You can also add cukes if you want. :)

Re: summer food

Date: 2006-06-27 07:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luciab.livejournal.com
After your first sentence, I expected peaches in the recipe!

This is very similar to the one I make; mine adds celeryand a can of kidney beans, but uses salsa for the dressing. I eat it with tortilla chips sometimes.

Re: summer food

Date: 2006-06-27 07:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] thalionar.livejournal.com
*laugh*
sorry! peaches are just... peaches. Mostly I eat them out of hand, sometimes I cut them up and make pies. The ones I got from SC this weekend are the hand kind, they're too soft to do much else with. Well, and make ice cream and freeze for later. :)

Profile

luciab: (Default)
Susan Arthur

February 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios